I must update my blog more often!

I may have been busy over the last couple of months but should really have put some time aside to keep my blog updated. I finished my first large item of clothing using fairisle technique last week, so maybe that’s a good place to start.

I saw the Scribble Tanktop pattern in issue 44 of The Knitter and it screamed DAVE! My partner Dave already owns a couple of patterned tanktops and is also a big fan of the colour brown, so I decided to use the recommended yarn which also added a bit of variety to his wardrobe – i.e blue

I had to learn the continental method of knitting to alternate between my standard method for the brown (working yarn in right hand) and the continental for the blue (working yarn in left hand). This ensured I kept the brown yarn above the blue as I knitted without having to keep swapping the yarn in my right hand and avoided the 2 yarns getting tangled. I’ve found it really rewarding to learn the continental method for knit stitch as it is much quicker to work. The tanktop was knitted in the round so I only had to purl rows after shaping for the arm holes. I recommend persevering with learning it if you can’t already!

You can also buy the Scribble Tanktop pattern separately on The Making Spot website.

starting fairisle technique for tanktop in The Knitter

I experimented to find the best method for the 2 colour yarns on the back of the knitting. I tried ‘wrapping’ the yarn as shown above (stops you having long stretches of loose yarn) but as the maximum length was 6 stitches I settled on leaving it loose as the front looked better

first repeat of fairisle scribble pattern tanktop from The Knitter

It took a while to get my tension right, so the yarn travelling across the stitches on the back wasn’t too tight, but became really easy once I got used to swapping between the blue and brown yarn. There are 2 different rows of repeat scribble designs that are offset

fairisle scribble tanktop knitted in the round

I really like how the gap between rows increases from the bottom of the tank to the top and the great thing about knitting in the round is less joins to sew 🙂

fairisle scribble tanktop modelled by Dave

As you can see, my partner Dave is very proud of his new tanktop 🙂

Leave a Reply

